All Events


Country: France

Place: Stade Roland Garros, Paris

French Open

Learn to pronounce the player names at Roland Garros

Named after the French aviator Roland Garros, the French Open is the premier clay court tennis championship event in the world and the second of the four annual Grand Slam tournaments, the other three being the Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.

Roland Garros is the only Grand Slam event held on clay and ends the clay court season. Because of the slow-playing surface and the five-set men's singles matches without a tie-break in the final set, the event is widely considered to be the most physically demanding tennis tournament in the world.

Spanish player Rafael Nadal is the winner of the the most most titles in the men's competition with 9 victories. The winner of the most women's singles titles is the American player Chris Evert who has won the tournament 7 times. The tournament has been held in some form or other since 1891 and currently takes place at the Stade Roland Garros in Paris, which has been the home of the event since 1928.

Photo: Court Central, Roland Garros, Médéric

Male tennis players

List of top male tennis players